The Life in the Day…

I had one of those days today.

Nothing bad; Work started at 10am today. The previous day I had met a stranger at Starbucks and one of the things that we spoke about was how in our jobs we are not our best selves – if anything we are our “trapped” selves. Our lower selves, or to borrow a term from Aikido, a lower level of self/being.

Today was an example of what he was describing.

My fuse with certain family members is shorter than usually, but it sure beats being “numb” to their talking. Unfortunately this fuse has also extended to the customers that come into the store that I work in. Much to my dismay, I feel that I have a low(er) tolerance for stupid questions and dumb inquires nowadays. No concrete examples come to mind at the moment – but they are there.

I’m hoping that this is just a passing phase. It’s not a bad phase, but there’s a numbing feeling to it all. Maybe I’m just being more “in tune” with myself and my surroundings. Or is my body and mind just being more sensitive? Hopefully the latter…

One good thing I have to say is that work is no longer a chore! Retail is an uneventful job and through my own prejudices of the position, I’ve come to regard it as more of a “part of my life” rather than a “Damnit, now I have to do this, again!” It’s not a positive part of my life, but it gives me some pocket money and at least my energy has been freed up considerabley to concentrate on more pressing matters.

Maybe I will post up some work related events on here more often – and maybe from life in general, there’s been some weird stuff happening as of late.

To finish off, I’d like to share this song. Someone pieced together clips from the movie The Fast and Furious: Tokyo Drift (2007; blah movie, great soundtrack) to form a music video of the song Six Days (Remix) – DJ Shadow featuring Mos Def. Enjoy.

Till next time.

3 thoughts on “The Life in the Day…

  1. That whole DJ Shadow album is hot. I’ve loved his stuff since Endtroducing. You’re bringing me back, bro…bringing me back…

Leave a Reply

