Lethargy is Thy Worst Enemy

Recognizing that the power of will is the supreme court over all other departments of my mind. I will exercise it daily when I need the urge to act for any purpose; and I will form habits designed to bring the power of my will into action at least once daily.

~ Bruce Lee

I’m was not kidding about the title – there are times nowadays that I find myself slipping back into the old habit of just sitting there, doing nothing. Often ending up going on Youtube to watch Justice League episodes (Not a bad show, by the way!) or Starcraft 2 casts and replays. Though I understand that there’s a joke circulating around the web that people nowadays spend as much as 20% of their days getting distracted while online, what I’m talking about is the act of simply not listening to yourself when you want or need to do something.

You know that voice? No not the one in your head – the one in your gut. Listen to that. Yes, that voice; the gut voice. The one that does not head to your thoughts. For some of us males, we called this strategy “follow your balls.” A somewhat misleading statement but somehow whenever I say those three words I get the picture.

One way that I am combating my lethargy is this; I try to stay out of the house as much as possible. If I stay it feels as if my energy gets sapped away and I’m left with a shell of a person that was me. When I’m out, I feel *a little* more productive.

Another way I am doing this I settle myself down. Breathing in, breathing out; allowing the whole body-mind system align with itself and plug into where I am and how I am. When I do this, it’s the beginning of my willpower coming into action. Granted I’m only beginning, and I have a long way to go and I have many, many obstacles to conquer on my path…

But this is a start.

8 thoughts on “Lethargy is Thy Worst Enemy

  1. You should check out the animated version of Batman: Year one.

    Also, how related/different are Judo and Aikido? I used to take Judo when I was a teen for a few years, and then had to quit, and then a few years back I decided to back and then I broke my leg. Now that leg is permanently injured (I’m not crippled or anything, just that it hurts if I jog for too long and whatnot) and I was thinking of studying “softer” grappling. But actually going out and doing martial arts again is going to be out of the question for another few years.

  2. Every day I ask myself “how am I moving the ball forward today?”

    Some days, I move the ball forward only an inch. Other days, I move it a mile.

    Progress, albeit slow, is still progress.

  3. Tommy – I have the movie actually. Saw it once, it’s pretty good!
    To start off: Judo is competitive (it’s an Olympic sport) and still seen as mainly a sport. Aikido is largely non-competitive because of the founder’s vision and most teachers have kept it that way (although there is a style of Aikido that is competitive). Both are “soft-style” martial arts, utilizing the opponents energy to produce movement rather than using punches and kicks. However, Aikido technically speaking utilizes more joint locks, whole body movement, and meditative/metaphysical/spiritual components in its training (I have yet to hear of any martial arts that have this relationship). You’ll be glad to know that many of Aikido’s 1st generation teachers are former Judo men, including one of my Sensei. You should come by sometime. Again, for some reason a lot of ex-Judo people find Aikido a great transition after their training. And don’t worry about injuries; many Aikido people I know here have had injuries in their past and have been able to work with their tough spots and thrive on the mat. It also helps that there’s a large population of sports therapists/body work people in the Aikido population.

    Rick – Amen. So long as we improve from yesterday somewhere somehow, that’s all that matters.

    1. Drew- I used the term “softer” because even though they’re both soft-style martial arts, Judo is pretty power based. The reason why a lot of Judoka turn to Aikido is because Judoka receive lot of injuries and as most Judoka age, their bodies just can’t handle all the strain anymore.

      In all honesty, I want to get back to Judo, but with my schedule/physical situation that’s pretty much ouf of the question right now. And I’m aware of all the joint locks, which also worries me because I absolutely cannot afford to break anything as of now.

      http://www.sjbjudo.org/ – this was the dojo I used to go to, it’s pretty prestigious lol. (Also where I broke my leg.) Oh and I was never really any good at it, I was always on and off so don’t ask about my skill lol.

      1. Tommy – I usually use strength and power in the context of muscle power usage and straining. I haven’t trained in Judo, so by default you’re the expert here, but from what I hear there’s very little muscle usage in Judo – I’m sure you guys don’t call it “the gentle way” for nothing.
        As for old age – I dunno. All I know is a lot of the Judoka that join Aikido were at their training prime. As my own Sensei (who himself is a Judoka) said most of them came to Aikido because they felt something was missing – by that he meant spiritual. I don’t think “straining” was a problem: Many of the 1st generation Aikido instructors could do Judo throws well into their 60s and 70s – so injuries and old age weren’t really that big of a factor.
        As for your injuries and fear: that’s okay it’s normal. I know of several 70 and 80 year olds who can roll and do wrist/joint locks pretty well – enough to roll with (pun intended) aikidoka half their age. Whats your age? You can’t be that old to complain about breaking anything.

        1. Well in all fairness, “the Way of harmonious spirit” sounds pretty soft as well….but I don’t know, maybe I need to see some Aikido randori to compare them. All I know is that Kano-sensei deemed most joint locks from jiujitsu to be too dangerous, so he didn’t want to use them in Judo. Also apparently the two founders met up quite often too, from what I’ve heard.

          I tried going back to Judo a few years ago and broke my fibula during randori. It’s permanently injured because it’s a supporting bone and will never get the chance to heal completely since there’s always going to be strain on it whenever I put weight on it. I’m not worried because of my age. I’m worried because my leg feels vulnerable. I can’t jog for half an hour without having to stop because of the aching and I’m always on my feet at work so I can’t afford to break it again.

          1. Kano, Ueashiba and Hakudo, respectively “founders” of judo, aikido and musoshindenryu iaido (the apix around founder are mainly about Kakudo sensei.. MSR iaido school has a long lieange!) were good friends. I remember on one my iaido books a picture of all three together, but I can’t find it now!

Leave a Reply

