Journey of Triumph

I come from the bleachers
Watching most of the people play the game
Afraid to lose
Afraid to fail
Shackled by the past and by doubt
Shackled by those afraid to dare
Afraid to try
and Afraid to be brave
~
I come from the bleachers
where people who are content to watch the game go by
never fully realizing that they too could be the players
The winners, the go-getters
~
I come from the bleachers where the energy of the game
and taste of victory is close
close enough for me to dare to enter the game
At first I will be ridiculed,
laughed at, ignored by, or brushed off
by both the players and the people from the bleachers
By the players because I don’t belong there. And by the people
from the bleachers because they think I’m crazy.
~
But it is these people who I will ignore
and instead I will play the game
For too long have I been denied its glory
and the sweetness of victory over adversity and adversary
as well as victory over my own self
I will triumph where no one ever has
My journey will be one marked with many near misses and close calls
I will have bad days, sucky days, and some really shitty days


But in the end,
After I have conquered every obstacle in my life
past, present, and future (and then some)
will I have attracted the attention of the gods
and be at the steps of their pantheon.
And what I will hear is not
“What are you doing here?”
For it will be
“You’re late.”

~

And that ladies gentlemen
Is my journey of triumph

July 5, 2012 by the First Dragon Rider; “Drew”

Leave a Reply

