The Gun Makers and the Sword Smiths: A Labor of Love

Please excuse the poor quality of the first video. I had trouble finding a second one so if any of you find a better one let me know.

Anyway, I wanted to bring to your attention about authenticity – namely anything that is done by hand. I don’t know about you, but there’s something, just something about objects being made by hand. Especially if items were made by hand with care, time, and precision. Whether it’d be a painting, clothing, furniture, books, or in this case weapons; there’s that human touch if I may say so.

I don’t remember off the top of my head having owned anything that was custom made just for me. The only thing closest to having that feeling of having owning something hand made are my model battleships that I have in my room now. Since age 6 I’ve probably put together over a dozen of these plastic ships. It was unfortunately that since 2 years ago I’ve had to throw my older ones out because of deterioration and that I needed more space in my room. But turning to my left there’s my Tamiya scale 1/700 USS Enterprise (CV-6) that I made several years ago.

But I digress, my point is that you just can’t replace things that are hand made, even if they happen to be copies – in the case of the gun makers of Pakistan. The guns that they make may be copies, but where do you get the human dedication of hand making the weapons? Much like how the Japanese sensei is one of 30 last sword makers in the world that does what he does.

It’s a dying art. Now fortunately martial arts are not going to die out anytime soon (people will have to defend themselves in some form or another), but just knowing that, having things done with authenticity and by human hand is slowly being squeezed out in favor of machine and assembly line. Now don’t get me wrong, sometimes things need to be done in a fast fashion especially for mass numbers.

But I feel there will be something lost when human hands are taken out of the equation. I included the picture of dusk here because, I feel that in society in general now we’re going through a phase of where the human component will be ending, and the machine will be taking its place for a while.

We need things that are done by human hands. As I mentioned before mass manufacturing is great and all, but like sex or martial arts, there will always be a need for it. I know that perhaps weapons may not be everyone’s cup of tea. But hey I’m an aspiring martial artist here.

Till next time

One thought on “The Gun Makers and the Sword Smiths: A Labor of Love

Leave a Reply

