My Small Challenge

It’s time for a breakthrough.

So my wallet is bleeding from a tune up, gas, and food. Nothing to be afraid of yet but I’m avoiding my bank statement for fear that I won’t have enough to pay it off entirely. I always do anyway, but it’s painful just to see the numbers.

Anyway I have a small challenge for myself, as inspired by this post from the Better Man Project. It’s not exactly going on a fast, but as the title says, it’s a small challenge.

1. $10/day. Give or take a few cents. This strategy is meant to curb my impulses to buy stuff. Like I mean stuff like drinks, coffee, snacks (I get hungry often because I workout regularly). The tiny purchases that I make a lot that add up in the end. This is of course excluding major things like the tune up I needed because my gas milage plummeted! Everyday, ten dollars only.

2. Finishing this internship. Coming from low-middle class family money has always been on the minds of my folks. It’s only going to get worse as time goes on. As the old adage says: “if you are from the poor class, getting an education is your ticket out”. I’m going to finish this, despite some indicators that becoming a teacher might not “get me out”. Oh well, at least I’ll learn some things along the way.

3. Martial Arts: This one is going to be a hard one. Why? Because I’m not training at the moment. But I’ve come to the conclusion that no matter what happens in life, no matter where I go or what I do, I will need martial arts in my life. I could be 88 years old and I can see myself practicing Tai Chi, Aikido, or some other physical activity.

Because you know, golf is for pussies.

No I’m just kidding, but once I have a substantially larger cash flow and a job I will devote my money and energy to the martial arts – other than my job of course. I hope everything works out. Till next time.

One thought on “My Small Challenge

  1. I’m convinced that what you end up doing finds you as much as you find it. Enjoy the journey.

    Regarding martial arts training, once you’ve learned something, it’s yours. You can train on your own in between attending martial arts classes or even if you change styles due to location, or whatever.

    Philosophy practiced is the goal of learning. – Thoreau.

    Ganbatte!

Leave a Reply

