October 23, 2012

Today is my birthday, my 27th year of living. Instead of giving a long speech I thought I’d shared a question that I read on the inter-webs not too long ago that is making rounds in my mind.

“What have you done to get to where you are now?”

Simple question, yet it sunk in like a meteor falling towards the Earth. My answer to this question was a long one, but it can be summed as this: Not as much as I would have liked and not what I had envisioned.

There are people out there with talent, who were born in 3rd base, had an emotionally balanced upbringing, and had help when warranted. I did not, yet I like to believe that I have something that they don’t have.

  • The will to succeed
  • The will to train hard, sweat tears and blood for what I want.
  • The will to see things through to the end
  • The will to see to it that I live a fulfilling life
  • My promised to myself that I will succeed where others have not
  • and finally, my promise to actualize myself into the human being that I am

…Soon…

These are the gifts that I got from my students. They are 9 and 10 year olds and yes, they are indeed thoughtful and sweet. *Names have been removed to protect the innocent.
One thought on “October 23, 2012

  1. Happy belated birthday. Don’t think of all the deficiencies, look at how far you’ve come. And then realize how wonderful it is to be like by so many impressionable minds! …and then, finally, feel in your core that you’re slowly running out of time…not to get all panicked, but to stoke the fire and get that bucket list going again. Do What You Can, With What You Have, Where You Are.

Leave a Reply

