A Promise to Thy Self

A promise to a childA long time ago, I made a promise to myself that even when I become a great martial artist, I would never, ever lose my ability to connect and relate to others.

So many martial artists – so many great ones (such as my two sensei) struggle with this aspect. They are peerless in their skill, yet connecting with their fellow man can be a can of worms to them.

Maybe I’m expecting too much of myself; after all it is not unheard of all great athletes, leaders, martial arts to achieve god-like status and be unable to relate to their fellow men and women.

I guess that comes with the territory. Oh well, it’s too early in my career to be worrying about that. But at this stage, that promise is still holding true.

2 thoughts on “A Promise to Thy Self

Leave a Reply

