Working Hard vs. Working Smart

working smart vs. working hardIt’s better to work smart, than to work “hard”. I have made this my M.O. in my daily because:

  • Instead of practicing a technique 1000 times the wrong way, do one technique 10 times, reflect, change, and then improve on it in the next 10 times (repeat when necessary).
  • Instead of blindly reading a study guide that’s 100+ pages long, head straight for the practice tests in the back and brush up on the information needed to pass it.
  • Instead of talking that cute girl (or guy) for 10 minutes about some random aspect of their life, tell them after 5 minutes of talking about x,y,and/or z that that the reason why you’re talking to her is that she’s (or he) cute that you want to ask them out.
  • Instead of waiting for something to happen, then react to it; trust your senses and gut and be present…in the moment (easier said than done, but I’m doing as much as I can).
  • Instead of blindly listening to someone’s advice, instead ask them how to do what they are advising you to do.
  • Instead of doing the same habits that you’ve been doing in your daily life for over 5 years, purposefully do or “sample” different habits on a weekly basis.
  • Instead of allowing old disabling habits hinder you, ease your mind and allow your greater body and mind to open and allow new insights and habits to replace the old.
  • Realize that you can accomplish what you set yourself out to do in a few years time what it’ll take most people a decade to do.
  • Do at least one thing daily that will benefit your future and/or something you’ve never done before. Work out, submit job applications, chat with the cute girl across the way.
  • Simplify, Simplify, Simplify. Movement does not equate to productivity (forgot who said this).

I don’t know about you, but I was raised to think that effort = progress/rewards, something I’ve come to label as the “Asian method”. Unfortunately it never panned out for me. Maybe it was the mix of my ability to see what was happening in the present as well as figuring out that my parents weren’t very bright people and I was? I don’t, I have a knack for finding out (with reasonable results) whether a project is worth my time.

I’m come to realize that it is perhaps my ability to simply the situation and/or task at hand. I only discovered this very recently, but upon reflection I’ve had it since I was a child. I don’t know why this skill wasn’t brought to the “surface” during my schooling years – probably because of stress and/or my living conditions. I did mention earlier that my schooling was not a strong suit – but better late than never right?

Those who are unaware they are walking in darkness will never seek the light. ~ Bruce Lee

One thought on “Working Hard vs. Working Smart

Leave a Reply

