Martial Discoveries: Random Aikido Stuff

Kick ass food! Donkey DinnerIt’s been a while since I’ve done Martial Discoveries. So without further ado. here they are.

Articles

1.) So I got this from a sister dojo of ours here. British Aikido man defeats muggers without dropping his food.

Mr Wood said he drove home and ate his fish and chips – which he managed to keep in one hand the whole time without dropping anything – before telling his partner about the incident.

“I do feel lucky – if they had stabbed me one inch over it would have hit my liver and my lung and someone would have found me bleeding in an alleyway instead,” he said.

I want some of those fish and chips!

2.) So according to this article (thanks Bob!) sitting down is dangerous to your health. One of my first thoughts were “so do ADD people have an advantage?” (since you know we can’t sit still!)

3.) Scientists from Yale University who partnered with their appropriate colleagues from University of Erlangen-Nuremberg in Germany have proven that a diet filled with processed food does contribute to the conditions that make people susceptible to autoimmune disease and other relate aliments.

He said: ‘These are not diseases of bad genes alone or diseases caused by the environment, but diseases of a bad interaction between genes and the environment.

‘Humans were genetically selected for conditions in sub-Saharan Africa, where there was no salt. It’s one of the reasons that having a particular gene may make African Americans much more sensitive to salt.

As for me, I’m kind of screwed since 80% of my diet consists of food that has been processed in some way. Oh well, I can only control as much as I can.

4.) A short but interesting article regarding the relationship between the founder of Aikido, Morhiei Ueshiba and his main martial arts teacher Sokaku Takeda. A great read of any martial artist studying the relationship between master and student.

Videos

I’m totally down for this! I like it towards the end where the woman and the guy are screaming running after their props!

One thought on “Martial Discoveries: Random Aikido Stuff

Leave a Reply

