Training Update: More Exercise

OopsAikido has benefited me in ways that I could only show the world – words would not do my journey justice. However sharing my accomplishments is something that I can do.

One of which is in workout, weight lifting, and exercise in general.

Exercise, apart from Aikido have been one of the few blessings in my life. I don’t how to describe it, but one of the few “zen” times in my life where I can power up, power down, and take down the competition at my own leisure. I will admit though that I have been slacking…Yes, yes I’ve been slacking on my exercise regime.

Speaking of which, what is my regime? In January I created this:

  1. 300 pushups/week (dive-bomb pushups whenever permitted)
  2. 300 tricep exercises/week (tricep pushups)
  3. 1 bootcamp /week for 1 hour – this includes 1.5 miles + various leg, arm, and core exercises.
  4. Going to the gym 2-3 times/week for 1 – 2 hours/time. Various leg, arm, cardio, and core exercises (same type of exercises).

Now it’s April and #1, 2, and 4 have disappeared for the most part. Why you ask? Simple: whenever I workout I get terribly hungry afterward and therefore I need to get food. Which also means that I have to spend money on food.

Money I don’t have.

I don’t know if this is just an excuse, but as far as appetites are concerned, I eat just as much as my mom, dad, and sister put together when I was doing this regime, that’s a lot of money that I have to scrape together on my meager salary.

So my excuse for not exercising? I don’t have (enough) money for the food that I need to in order to build the appropriate livestyle of building muscle and living healthy. At the moment I’m content with my weekly 1 hour bootcamp and the occasional gym session.

It sucks, but that’s what I’m doing in the exercise department. Besides, I need to concentrate on something more important at the moment: My professional life.

2 thoughts on “Training Update: More Exercise

  1. It’s funny, I can afford the proper food, gym, even a trainer if I wanted. However, the management gig in higher ed gets in the way. With the BS I have to deal with, the longer hours, etc., sometimes all I want to do is go home. I’m also fighting what happens to the male body at 45. Ug.

    1. I read a meme somewhere stating that when one is young; you have the time and energy but no money. When you are middle aged you have the money and energy but no time. When you reach your senior years you have the time and money but no energy.

      I’m still in stage 1. As for you, at least you have a job!

Leave a Reply

