Punching Water

Punching waterToday (yesterday) I was in a fury over my situation of not knowing what to do with my life (along with other frustrations at that moment) .  I was walking along side of a small pond and in a sudden rush of fury, I knelt down and punched the water.

Needlessly to say my whole right side of my body got wet.

It was then that I realized what it meant to “be like water” (Bruce Lee here).

If you punch water, water simply responds appropriately – but getting back at you. Water doesn’t care what hits it or why, it simply responds. If you punched water, it’s not necessarily the water’s fault that it has splashed all over you. After all, who was it that punched the water?

Right then and there, I realized what kind of person I was. One of the thoughts that ran through my head was that I realized for my whole life  I have been the type of man who didn’t hesitate to respond “appropriately” to hostile/aggressive movements towards me.

Likewise, I’m can be rather neutral, calm, and peaceful when left alone.

Damn, I feel like I’m onto something here.

Leave a Reply

