My Aikido Journey, Part 1

sailing into the sunsetI’ve been blogging for a good 3 years now with a half a year hiatus, and recently in the past months I’ve been contemplating just why the hell am I blogging for and what is this blog for?

I felt that this is a good time to “reveal the cards”; don’t ask me the specifics! Just know that I feel this is a good time to tell all of you.

~

So the main reason for my Aikido training isn’t as much martial, as it is for personal reasons.

It’s funny regarding the timing of when I started training in Aikido. I had just moved back from LA then feeling empty and moving back home with the intent on finding what “I was missing”. It was then that after being fired from a job and receiving word that I (unawares) was harassing some of the women at a friend’s group, I was advised by a pastor that I should seek professional help.

So I began seeing a psychotherapist in October of 2008 – a bit of a birthday present to myself. To this day I still see her once a month, even though the original reason why I began seeing her has been resolved (for the most part).

That same year (in fact several months before), I began training at my current dojo with NSS and JWS, my two main Sensei.

Over the years, my training and my therapy work have become intertwined in the sense that the way Aikido is transmitted and explained, I was able to incorporate it into the work that my therapist has been doing for/with me.

It has been 5 and a half years (and counting!) since that first day that I walked into her office and told her the first of many troubles that plagued my life then. Relationships, inability to keep a job, parents, friends, the whole 9 yards: she knows about them. There have been ups and downs with her, but when I’m 50 years old and looking back, I will say with certainty that seeking her out was one of the wisest and most beneficial things that I ever did for myself.

Just Aikido ItNowadays I only see her once a month, down from the twice a month that I had for the majority of the past 5 years. However, I’m come to appreciate this because it allows me freedom to explore and build myself on my own terms with what I’ve learned from her and from the dojo at my own speed.

I feel like nowadays, my life is primarily just those two things: Aikido and psychotherapy.

~

Does my Aikido replace the work that I’ve been doing in psychotherapy? No, not necessarily. I’d say by in large it has complemented it. Just how Aikido is a transformational art (NSS) gives it the right privilege and prestige to be in my life at the moment.

I’m going to keep her name and all information pertaining to her a secret here because of privacy issues and per the agreement that all therapist have with their clients. You might see me mention a particular problem that I might be having at that point in life, but I will most likely not mention her. For any future posts, I will refer to her as “the LCSW”.

Phew, that was hard – just trying to get my message across. For the second part, I’ll give a rundown about my Aikido dojo and my two Sensei and a little more in depth on what Aikido means to me. Thanks.

7 thoughts on “My Aikido Journey, Part 1

    1. Thanks. It took some convincing for me to go into therapy since I was trying to macho. It was (still is) a long road, but all in all I’m thankful I did it. I’ve come to realize that a lot of the “success” in therapy depends on the relationship between you and the other person. I’m sorry to hear it didn’t work out, but hopefully your life turned out all right in any case.

      As for martial arts; it really depends on the “connection” that you have with said art(s) and the instructor(s) that you will have. Good luck to you!

  1. Keep up the good fight, man. I applaud you for reaching out to your psychotherapist. As long as she’s continuing to help you grow and heal, I think it’s a good idea to continue seeing her.

  2. I’ve had wonderful insights from Hakomi Therapists, NLP practitioners, Registered Psychologists and just Health & Wellness practitioners (ND, R.Ac, RMT, etc). Big Up for sharing your life – it’s hard and you should be proud. Martial arts saved my life and continues to do so. Whenever I feel like there’s nothing, there’s always something: Gung-Fu.

Leave a Reply

