You are the Company that You Keep

A promise to a child
I like this picture because there’s a role model/student relationship here.

Tell me who your friends are and I will tell you who you are. ~ Russian Proverb

…Even if you don’t like them or don’t want anything to do with them. It also doesn’t have to be friends, it’s also family!

Just came back from an appointment with my LCSW, discussing among other things my recent experience with JWS on how I wasn’t present during a demo over the weekend (more on that in the next post). Among the things that were discussed were how my past conditions affect the way how I perceive the “here and now”.

More importantly, my ability to be present, focusing on what I’m doing at any given moment (as I’m typing this I have 7 other tabs open to various different things that I’m going to do in the next hour. So you can see how much progress I’m making in the “here and now”).

I was mentioning how during my childhood, I didn’t play with any of the children. For the first 3 years of elementary school I’d often be in my own little world – daydreaming of being happy while the rest of the children would play with their friends.

This was due to how my household then was a very highly emotional place – two struggling parents with two highly energetic kids make for (in my case) as a very emotionally charged place to be in. Therefore, I had no time to myself. Recess and lunch were the only times that I had to myself. Which made me a hard person to get along with to put it mildly. I’ve lost count of the friends who I’ve lost (and girls) because of who I was in college.

I’m happy to say that I’ve branched out and have acquired new friends and acquaintances in the past 2 years, but I’ll never forget the lesson that I learned (and am still learning) from my parents’ example:

When you limit and isolate yourself from the world, you will never grow up. And you will only be as good as the company who you keep, even if you don’t like them.

Leave a Reply

