How I am “Fast and Furious”

Many of you many not have known him, nor really cared too much about him but this guy passed away earlier today

Screen Shot 2013-11-30 at 8.49.18 PM

He is one of the main stars of the Fast and Furious franchise. Not exactly Academy material – the movie franchise’s main claim to fame is fast cars, scantily clad women, and the culture of underground illegal street racing. Hardcore alpha males (and females alike) duking it out with their egos, cash (lots of it), reputations, and lives on the line using modified cars that would put your typical Ferrari to shame.

That being said, despite its cheesy premises – like most testosterone filled people, this franchise provided a sense of guilty pleasure – and a longing for being “your own man”. For me it’s always been the aspect of “not following the rules” and carving out your own destiny with only your brains, brass balls, wits, and good ol’ fashion teamwork (in the latter movies, you see a lot of teamwork).

Which brings me to the thesis of this post. I chose my screen name as “Fast&FuriousDrew” because of the series. The fast cars mainly; I’ve come to accept – and love – the fact that I am a not necessarily a car man, but a “speed and power” man.

If it goes fast, I like it :).

Anyway, my enthusiasm for the series has tapered off since Fast and Furious 5, however losing one of its pillars makes a little hollow inside – these were the guys that really got my inner child racing (figuratively speaking). A big thank you to the team behind and in front of the camera of the Fast and Furious series, you guys make another “racer” out of me.

Leave a Reply

