Operation Fasting – Week 3

14507-monk-meditating-1280x800-photography-wallpaperWeek 3 of my fasting period hit a few speed bumps along the way. On Monday I accidentally ate a peach, which in effect broke my fast. Realizing that I was only going to fast for three days (Mon-Wed) I decided that as “punishment”, I’d do another day of fasting.

The next day, I then accidentally ate a fruit roll.

What have I discovered? That there is the initial  “high” of accomplishing an action, then temptation sets in. I never foresaw how powerful temptation was – to fall back into your old “regular” routine.

The peach and the fruit roll started out as just impulses to try a “new” food. Looking back now I can’t help but remember how ridiculously easy it was to stray.  Fortunately the last two days of the fast went without incident – therefore I ended the 3rd week well.

Leave a Reply

