Scorpio Sensibilities

scorpioI’ve always been a very curious kid; if something caught my interest I’d research said material intensely. Often times digging up information only a detective would be impressed at. Aikido, Wing Chun, the cute girl that I had a crush on Junior year in high school, BoA Kwon (Korean female pop singer)…the list goes on

And of course astrology. More specifically, the whole horoscope thingy

Now just to be clear, I’m not going to ask someone what their zodiac sign is (that’s the Sun sign for those of you true practitioners) within 30 minutes of meeting them. No I’m not that crazy. However I like to say that I’ve acquired enough info that if the topic ever comes up during a dinner conversation, I can hold my own.

Which brings me to my own confession. I’m a Scorpio (born October 23rd) and I have not been a Scorpio. In fact, I will say that I’ve never been a “true” Scorpio for the past 20 years of my life. It has only this year that with all due honesty that I feel remotely “scorpio”.

Why you ask? A mix of parenting and self destruction will really do a number to your psyche. That and a healthy does of poor role modeling can have effects that can go on for years.

I’m also sound like I’m making excuses – which I hope I’m not, but like anyone (or any sign), getting lost in life is not a journey one takes lovingly. Whether it’d being in a gang, dipping in drugs, wrong career, or just being in a horrible environment is not something I’d recommend waving around like a heart on a sleeve.

That being said, I like this year so far. Lots of changes and challenges. I guess I bring up my horoscope sign because this year has had a lot of things going on. I received my black belt in January and from that time on my awareness (self and otherwise) have increased faster and are more pronounced than in years previous.

As an example, I met with a life coach last week and she said something that still tugged at my heart while we were sipping coffee. It gives me chills whenever I think about it, and I can only suspect it will continue to do so for the foreseeable future. The conversation went something like this:

Me: So what are we looking at?
Life Coach: [From what you’ve told me], and from what I see here, you’re the type of person who is only defeated if you believe that you are.

I don’t know what that means, but all I know is that she hit the nail on the head. And as a Scorpio, this is awesome news. The reason? I now know what I’m capable of.

Leave a Reply

