My Job at the YMCA Part 1

So no job yet in my life has left me dumbfounded, surprised, shocked, or enlightened than my current part time position as a YMCA after school leader.

For my non-American readers, the YMCA is simply a non-profit organization here in the states that provides (among other things) after school programs for elementary schools where children are able to have extended times doing sports as well as time for their homework.

I’ve done teaching as a substitute teacher for a couple years now – I’ve taught in classes in areas where the 90% of the children are on state sponsored school lunches (when the families can’t afford to pay for their children’s school lunches). I’ve also taught classes where the average income for both parents are upwards in the $150,000/year mark. I’ve toke over classes at a Catholic school where the kids were expected to receive religious training and I’ve also had classes where the students will walk out of the classroom on their own free will – simply because they feel like it.

But never have I ever received so much “rawness” from these kids. If I were to summarize my experience so far (since late November), it’d be eye opening.

These posts will be more of back dating experiences, but I feel that these are definitely worth sharing to the world!

The official motto of the YMCA in my area; However I feel that "learn, grow, thrive" is more for the instructors rather than the children!
The official motto of the YMCA in my area; However I feel that “learn, grow, thrive” is more for the instructors rather than the children!
Leave a Reply

