Cartoons are a live saver!

gargoyles-group-shot-124454
The main characters of the show “Gargoyles”.

One of my few great memories growing up was the plethora of cartoons that were available during my elementary and middle school years.

Now of course, generations X,Y, and even Z will say that “their cartoons” were the best. I’ll stay out of these and just focus on the ones that I’ve come to love from the 90s and early 00’s.

Growing up, I had the standard maturing boy’s obsession with cartoons; I’d wake up early at 7am on Saturdays and some weekends to watch the latest on Nickelodeon, ABC, FOX, WarnerBros cartoons.

Oh man Mutant League, Darkwing Duck, Tailspin, Conan the Adventurer, The Mighty Ducks, Doug, Duck Tales, Chip and Dale: Rescue Rangers, GI Joe, Transformers (the original!), Johnny Quest, and The Justice League. This cartoons were the shit!

One that has stayed with me all these years as a little known cartoon known as GargoylesThen I didn’t understand why I was attracted to the show then – but I know that now it was just the combination of the various themes that the show had that to me most other shows didn’t have.

It was all I wanted: Dark vibes, fantasy meets realism (sort of), real world with the mystical, supernatural, melodrama, character development, great writing, human emotion, and a real connection to those who are seen as “evil” in society.

The last part was somewhat true that during my childhood, I was often seen with suspicion and weariness – even by some members of my own family. I guess the whole gargoyles turning into crime fighters gave me a sense of hope for my situation then (which I’ll get to in a later post).

There are a few more, but after watching Avatar: The Last Airbender, memories of this series came up. PS – below is the trailer for Gargoyles; I still get goosebumps just hearing it!

Leave a Reply

