My First Writing Piece

travel written in the sand

For the past few weeks I’ve been trying to recreate my writing “prowess” if I dare say so myself.

It all started when I was in 11th grade. I had written a piece which was influence by a dream I had at that time.

Unfortunately I don’t remember what exactly I wrote but I was in some car and I was chasing it and shooting it up apparently.

It was about a 2 page entry into a kind of high school collection of writing pieces from the student body and (also apparently) it was considered violent

So violent that I was called into a meeting with the head of the project (my AP US history teacher!) and was asked if I had any “violent intentions”.

Obviously no; With that said however, my piece unfortunately (damn it!) didn’t get selected.

Now, more than 10 years later – this forgotten treasure has resurfaced into my mind from the forgotten depths of my subconscious and made itself known.

I mean seriously, if my writing was so good that people thought it was foreshadowing me coming to school and shooting the place up, then my writing had to be hella good, yes?

I mean, what a better way than to be introduced into writing than by having your history teacher ask you if you were thinking black thoughts?

Leave a Reply

